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Property Tax Assessment Appeals Process (Form 130)
(This form may be used but is not required.)

A taxpayer has the right to initiate an appeal of the current year’s assessed
valuation. The first step in the appeals process begins with written notification to
the local assessing official. Taxpayers have 45 days from the date of the notice of
assessment to initiate an appeal. If no notice of assessment is given, the notice of
appeal must be filed not later than the later of May 10 of the tax bill year or 45
days after the date of the tax bill. In other words, if no Form 11 is issued by the
county assessor for the March 1, 2012 assessment date, the 2013 tax bill serves
as the notice of assessment and the deadline to file an appeal is the later of May
10 or 45 days after the date of the 2013 tax bill.

Evidence to support the taxpayer’s case can be in the form of a sale of the subject
property, sales of comparable properties, listing prices, offers to purchase or

an appraisal prepared by a licensed appraiser. Indiana law does not require a
taxpayer to submit an appraisal of the subject property to appeal the assessment.
While the Indiana Tax Court has held that an appraisal properly trended to the
appropriate valuation date is the best evidence, it is not the only acceptable
evidence. The county or township assessor has the burden of proof in an appeal
where the assessment increased by more than 5% over the preceding assessment
date.

If the taxpayer and the assessing official do not agree on the resolution of all
assessment issues or the results of the informal meeting are not forwarded to
the Property Tax Assessment Board of Appeals (PTABOA) not later than 120 days
after the date of the notice of review filed by the taxpayer, the PTABOA must
hold a hearing on the appeal not later than 180 days after the date of the appeal.
The taxpayer may request a continuance at least 20 days before the hearing. The
PTABOA must rule on the continuance no later than ten days after the date the
request for a continuance is filed. The taxpayer may, at least eight days before the
hearing, request that the PTABOA take action without his presence. The taxpayer
may withdraw a petition at least eight 8 days before the hearing. A PENALTY

OF $50 will be assessed against the taxpayer or his representative for failure to
appear at the hearing and if the taxpayer’s request for continuance, request for
the PTABOA to take action without the taxpayer’s presence, or withdrawal is not
timely filed (a penalty may be appealed). At the PTABOA hearing, the taxpayer
may present reasons for disagreement with the assessment.

If a taxpayer is not satisfied with the decision of the PTABOA or if the PTABOA
fails to hear the case not later than 180 days after the appeal was initiated or fails
to issue a determination not later than 120 days after holding its hearing, the
taxpayer has the right to appeal to the Indiana Board of Tax Review (IBTR) by filing
a Form 131. Taxpayers may contact the IBTR directly at (317) 232-3786 or visit the
IBTR “Guide to Appeals” at http://www.in.gov/ibtr/2330.htm.

After being heard by the IBTR, taxpayers may also seek review by the Indiana Tax
Court and, subsequently, the Indiana Supreme Court.

Contact information is available for the Indiana Department of Local
Government Finance at: http://www.in.gov/dlgf/2338.htm.

Form 130: FW

https://forms.in.gov/Download.
aspx?id=4816

Related Memorandum:

Indiana law does not require a
taxpayer to submit an appraisal
of the subject property in order
to appeal the assessment.
Memorandum on Use of
Appraisals: http://www.in.gov/
digf/files/Memo_Appeals082407.
pdf

Memorandum on penalty to
taxpayer for not appearing: http://
www.in.gov/dlgf/files/120522
Assessment_and_Appeal
Changes.pdf

Appeals 101: http://www.in.gov/
dlgf/files/120618 Assessment
Appeals_101-final.pdf

Memorandum on Legislative
Changes to Procedures for
Appeal of Assessment: http://
www.in.gov/dlgf/files/090722 -
Rushenberg_Memo_-_Appeals
Process_and PTABOA
Composition.pdf

Pertinent Evidence to Support a

Taxpayer’s Case:

e A sale of the subject property

e Sales of comparable properties

e Listing prices

e Offers to purchase

e An appraisal prepared by a
licensed appraiser

e For income producing property:
capitalized income and expense
information

Burden of proof falls to the
township or county assessor if the
assessment has increased by more
than 5%.

Claim for Refund Form 17T:
Taxpayers requesting refunds must
also file a “Claim for Refund” Form
17T with the county auditor.



Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How do | know if my new assessed value is correct?

A: The assessed value should reflect the amount a willing buyer would pay for the property at the time of the
assessment. When a property owner receives the notice of new assessment, the best way to determine if it is accurate
is to ask if the property could have sold for approximately that amount during the valuation time period. For 2012-pay-
2013 property taxes, the assessment and valuation date was March 1, 2013. Sales from 2012 and the first two months
of 2013 were used to determine this assessed value. A correct assessed value should reflect the amount a willing buyer
would pay for the property during 2012 and the first two months of 2013.

Q. Who should | contact to initiate an appeal of the assessed value of my property?
A: The appeals process begins with written notification to your local assessing official. Appeals begin at the local level
and can be appealed to the state only after being reviewed locally.

Q: To whom do | speak about an appeal if my township no longer has an assessor?
A: The county assessor is responsible for all assessment duties if you do not have a township assessor. Please visit the
following link to locate your local assessing official: http://www.in.gov/dlgf/2440.htm.

Q: When should I initiate an appeal?

A: If you receive a notice of assessment (Form 11), you should initiate an appeal within 45 days of the notice. If no Form
11 is sent, the tax bill serves as the notice of assessment and you should initiate an appeal within 45 days of the date of
the tax bill or May 10, whichever is later.

Q: Do | need a Form 130 to initiate an appeal of my assessment and if not, what else can | use?

A: You are not required to use the Form 130 to initiate an appeal. Indiana statute only requires written notification to the
local assessing official. The notification should include the name of the taxpayer, the address and parcel or key number of
the property and the address and telephone number of the taxpayer.

Q: Is an appraisal required as evidence when appealing an assessment?

A: No. State law does not require a taxpayer to submit an appraisal of the subject property in order to appeal the
assessment. Information about acceptable evidence to support an appeal is available at http://www.in.gov/ibtr/2420.
htm. If the value of the subject property has increased by more than 5% over the previous assessment date, the burden
of proof rests with the local assessing official.

Q: What happens if the PTABOA denies my appeal and I still disagree?
A: A petitioner may appeal the PTABOA decision to the Indiana Board of Tax Review (IBTR). After being heard by the IBTR,
taxpayers may also seek review by the Indiana Tax Court.

Q: What is the Property Tax Assessment Board of Appeals (PTABOA)?

A: Once a taxpayer has filed written notice of appeal, the local official is statutorily required to forward that written
notice to the county PTABOA, which will hear the taxpayer’s appeal and issue a written determination if the taxpayer and
assessing official are unable to resolve the dispute. The board of county commissioners may determine whether to have
a three or five member PTABOA. The county assessor is a non-voting member of the PTABOA regardless of the number of
members. In a county with a five member PTABOA, the commissioners appoint three freehold members and the county
council appoints two members. In addition to the county assessor, only one other officer or employee of the county

or township may serve on the board. In a county with a three member PTABOA, the county council will appoint one
individual and the commissioners will appoint two freehold members. See IC 6-1.1-28-1 for more information.

Q: What is the Indiana Board of Tax Review (IBTR)?

A: The IBTR is the state agency charged with hearing appeals from the PTABOA. A taxpayer who disagrees with the
PTABOA’s determination may petition the IBTR for further review. More information about the IBTR is available online at:
http://www.in.gov/ibtr.

Q: I know my assessment is incorrect and | am filing an appeal. Do | have to pay the full amount of my tax bill, or can |
wait for the results of my appeal?

A: If you have initiated an appeal, you may pay only an amount of taxes based on the immediately preceding year’s
assessment pending a final determination of your appeal. If you do not pay this amount when the property tax
installment is due, you will be considered delinquent and assessed penalties based on that delinquency.

For example, your property was assessed at $200,000 this year. You file an appeal contesting this assessment. Last year

your property was assessed at $100,000. You may pay the taxes associated with an assessed value of $100,000 during
the pending appeal with no penalty.



